Friday, September 5, 2008

First 3 days at school


This Photo is what I see when i stand at the urinal at the toilets near the cantine :)


Well I've been putting off writing this blog because it's going to be long and I haven't had the time, but the longer I put it off the more I have to write about. Since my last blog I've made so many new friends I've lost track, I've been kissed on the cheek so many times it's ridiculous, I've had 3 days of school, got lost in Briancon for about 2 hours and ended up walking home (which was partially good as I got to see a lot of the countryside) and I've destroyed the english class :) Except we've started phonetics, it's bizzarre. i don't really understand it and the teacher keeps speaking with a weird accent, some words sound American, some English and some Irish, even a bit of New Zealander. Anwayz we'll do this in chronological order;


First day (Wednesday):

Wednesdays are a shorter day. They start at 8 and finish at 11, but I'm trying to get out of Italien so that would mean I would start at 9 and finish at 11. I'm learning italien in Francais, it's so weird, I have no clue wether they're speaking Italien or Francais and they're a lot better than me in Italien than I am in Francais. Anway we also had Francais, that's fun I have no idea whats going on but I'm pretty sure they were talking about different types of literacy. My francais teacher doesn't speak english so it's going to be a fun first month or so. Then we had my favourite subject Anglais :) My teacher is cool though he can't understand what I'm saying because of my accent. I have two different types of Anglais teachers; an Anglais prof and an Anglais Specialte Prof. Specialte is like an extension class so we do a lot of talking and tryign to perfect pronunciation I ahd great fun making the class say words with 'H's in them or with 'TH' sounds because they cant do it Thumb becomes umb and Hate beomes ate its hilarious, they laugh along with me and make me say weird things, I made them try and say She sells sea shells by the sea shore. It was funny except i had to say a French tongue twister which ended with the class in fits of laughter including the teacher. Then I had to wait an hour for Marie who had a class before lunch while i had a free, I just played cards with a girl from my class called Joy, you don't need language to play cards :) I've got a lot of girls in my class actually, it's very different from Melbourne High, today (Friday) I was sitting next to a girl called solane and it was so odd, I had to check myself, I mean I was in France, speaking French (Well trying to at least) sitting in a class with girls and copying off a stunningly good looking girl. It was amazing! Lol but na all the kids in the class are accomedating, the guys are a little weird and I tend to hang out with the older guys because they're more into sport and stuff but everyone is really cool.


2nd Day (Thursday):

I Was looking forward to school for the first time in a long time. School here is great because you get to chat with new people and meet new people, c'est bon. The classes were the same except today I also had Histoire and Maths. By the way maths sucks in any language. Na actually it wasn't too bad I had no clue what we had to do but once someone translated it was easy as, we had done it at MHS about 5 weeks before. Histoire was hard, the teacher was dictating and I could only pick up a few things and by the time I had understood then translated a sentence she was already 4 sentences further on. But it was ok I copied off the girl sitting next to me and then translated it during a free period. Thursday was my first day having lunch in the cantine. Its very american. You get your tray and pick up your food then sit in your groups of friends. I met even more new people and Marie wasn't there because she had a 4 hour break in the middle of the day so she went home. I had lunch with a few of her friends and their friends. It was fun, hot food is amazing! and the food was actually pretty good, the kids I hung out with were funny turnign their nose up and stuff that I thought was amazing compared to when I make my lunchbox (credit must go to mum who does make amazing lunchboxes) and it consists of a Vegemite sandwhich and a piece of fruit for lunch. We're have carbonara and sausages next week lol. By the way just to give you an idea of my time table Lundi: 7h Mardi: 4h Mercredi: 1/2/3h Jeudi: 6/7h Vendredi: 4/5h. Some weeks I don't have certain classes so it all depends on wether we're doing week A or B and I'm tryign to get otu of Italien which is 2h per week.


3rd Day (Friday(Today)):

I've just realised how long this is and I'm sorry, it'll be over soon. Today was long and tiring. Nothing much new happened at school today. I'm starting to become decent friends with some of the kids in my class which is nice, plus me and Lise (The danish foreign exchange student) are pretty close jsut because we have stuff in common. At school we only speak French to each other but we had a free today and we gave up and just layed in the grass chatting in English, it was nice to finally have a decent conversation. Anyway after school i tried to get back home by public transport, it did not work, I got so lost and ended up walking home which took 40 mins and I was 2h later than what I would ahve been had I got it right. Remi and Michelle were ok about it, while they were worried (especially Michelle) they knew eventually I would find my way home (It's not big enough to get lost). And people here are nice so they will help me, which they did. They figured it was a good lesson. I felt guilty but at least I now know what to do.


Anwyayz I'm wrecked and I have to get up in the morning to go for a group ride up the col du galiber. I apologise for all my spelling errors, i'm very tired. If you have any questions don't hesiatate to e-mail thefryer_99@hotmail.com (by the way its an _ between fryer and 99)

Ciao for now

2 comments:

Graham said...

Hi Cal,
I'm still getting my head around the fact I am reading this and it is YOU doing this in FRANCE, - it is a bit of a spin out. It is a beautiful day in Melbourne today and Beach Road was humming - I did the Brumbies ride then hooked up with the Bandidos and ended up having coffee with them at Beauy. I bet you wish you were here instead of having to do some little-known climb over there.... ;).
What a great first week you have had (but remember 5 months is an enduro not a sprint). Dad

Pierre Arpin said...

Callum, Hi! you may remmeber me - a friend of your parents from University - I live in Canada now. Anyway, your Dad sent me the link to your blog and very entertaining it is. I can't say I have ever read a blog that starts with a view from a urinal . . . I liked the bits where you complemented your Mum on her lunch box preparation and the description of your Dad - parents like that sort of thing!
Hope the fun (and education) continues.
Regards
Tony Watts