First off here's three more photos from tuesday's ride and 2 of Alpe D'Huez
It may look like I'm not wearing a helmet but this climb was closed off to cars for the day and we were going at about 15kmsph and I put it back on after the steep part (3km) and I definetly had it on for the descent.
Now I've had to big days so I'll split them into two different blogs the first is I met my host mother yesterday. Me and Remi after school drove down to Grenoble and picked her up from the train station. I saw some amazing sights like water falls and glaciers. These glaciers have been there all summer and apparently you can go summer skiing on it. They're blue and they just look crazy. When we go on rides we stop in little towns to fill up waterbottles from these wells, the water in them is clean and comes from the glaciers in the mountains. It's the best water I've ever tasted it's fresh and a little sweet.
Anyway we drove down through the mountains and I noticed a sign pointing to Alpe D'huez turns out we drove right past it's base. We were running a little early so Remi took a little detour and we drove the first 3km of Alpe D'huez. It's crazy. It is absolutely amazing. I saw the corners with the numbers on them and people who have won the stage that has finished on top. The turns are fairly easy maybe 2% but then it just kicks up ridioulously it's amazing and there's writing all over the roads. People supporting Andy Schleck and CSC were out in force this year. Anyway I'll be riding it in a week before the snow sets in. :)
Grenoble is just like any other town its about the size of Bendigo but theres a lot of cafes. It wasn't a nice day when we were there but it was still cool seeing it. We met Michelle at the train station and she's really nice. Her english isn't as good as Remi's or Marie's so I enjoy speaking to her becuase I have to speak French I can't revert to English. She's fun and very motherly we did a wash before she came and the lothes were out drying I checked them when we got home and they were still dry. About an hour later a neat pile of my folded clothes were sitting on my desk, I couldn't believe it they must have dried about 2 minutes before I felt bad but she was fine with doing it and she'd done everyones at the same time. I've really lucked out with my Family, they're all really cool and I hope one day I can show them around Australia.
Anywayz Ciao for now
1 comment:
Ok - here's a Dad's comment:
Fabulous scenery - only spoilt by the idiot in the front who wasn't wearing a helmet!!
It "may look like" you weren't wearing a helmet because.....you weren't!!!! I am sure the road is just as hard when your head hits it at 15 kmh as it is at 25.
Anyway, no-one is going to talk to you when you get back because we are all so jealous of the great time you are having.
Countryside looks magic, towns are gorgeous, you are riding a bike IN THE FRENCH ALPS and having a great time, how good is it being a teenager these days!!
Dad
Post a Comment